In today’s multicultural landscape, it is becoming more important for food service managers to understand the different dietary practices followed by Americans. As the U.S. population continues to grow and diversify, religious dietary restrictions, such as kosher and halal, are increasingly followed.
During the last decade, the market for kosher food has increased by 15% on a yearly basis in North America. Similarly, halal food is also experiencing strong growth. Halal consumers now spend $20 billion on food each year in the United States. Strict laws and regulations governing these two types of diets outline what foods a person can and cannot eat and how to prepare them. To help understand these religious practices, each diet will be examined in greater depth.
Food is kosher when it meets dietary requirements outlined by Jewish law or kashrut, making it acceptable for people observing those laws to eat. The role of a kosher supervisor is to ensure the food is kosher and remains kosher after preparation or processing. A kosher symbol on a food product means that the product has been certified kosher from an agency. Kosher food is divided into three groups: meat, dairy and pareve (neither meat nor dairy). Only animals that chew their cud, have cloven hooves and are free from disease are considered kosher. These restrictions also apply to animal flesh, organs, milk and any by-products. Domesticated fowl are considered kosher. Seafood with fins and scales are also allowed. According to Jewish law, meat and dairy products cannot be combined or eaten at the same meal. Many people wait between three to six hours after eating a meal containing meat to have dairy products. Pareve foods do not contain any meat or dairy, therefore they can be eaten with either one.
*Fish cannot be placed on the same plate as meat – however, it can be consumed during the same meal.
Islamic dietary laws define which foods are halal. Halal foods are lawful and permitted to be eaten by those observing Islamic teachings. Muslims are not allowed to consume foods or beverages that are Haram, or forbidden. Foods that carry a halal symbol on their packaging have been approved by an agency and are certified to be free of any forbidden components or ingredients. Halal claims on the nutrition label or the packaging must include the name of the certification body.
Cereal products Halal:
Cereal products Haram:
Fruits and vegetables Halal:
Fruits and vegetables Haram:
Milk and dairy Halal:
Milk and dairy Haram:
Meats and alternatives Halal:
Meats and alternatives Haram:
It is often difficult to classify processed food as strictly halal or haram because of the ingredients they contain. Therefore, it is important to check the product’s label or packaging to see if it is halal certified. If no certification is specified, verify the list of ingredients and look for haram or forbidden ingredients. Some examples include: gelatin, lipase, pepsin, alcohol, vanilla extract (pure or artificial), animal fats, animal blood, animal rennet, mono and diglycerides from an animal source, whey powder, sodium stearoyl lactylate (SSL) or L-cysteine.By having food items and products available in your establishment that are allowed according to these religious principles, you will be able to satisfy the needs of a larger group of clients or customers.